And We Frolicked

April has been a rather strange month. Days seem to drag on and on while I am sitting at home bored. Yet it’s hard to believe that the month is almost over. Somehow it just flew by. I usually like to make the most of the early spring months; enjoying the cooler temperatures before the summer heat kicks in. For the time being, I couldn’t care less. I’m perfectly happy not living in the moment. I’ve got my eye on the prize: May 6th, the day my cast comes off. The date is circled on my calendar in bright red marker with glitter and star stickers. It’s all I can think about. Well, almost.

There’s also spinning. It’s is my new obsession. I have loved spinning ever since I first tried it out on a friend’s drop-spindle a few years back, but it has always been sort of my secondary hobby. It’s what I did when I wasn’t knitting. Since I am physically prevented from knitting right now, spinning is keeping me sane and so, so happy. I sit at my wheel for hours on end. I’m surprised there’s no smoke coming off the thing. So far, I have worked through the majority of my fibre score from last weekend. Feast your eyes on these beauties:wpid-dsc_0023.jpg wpid-dsc_0004.jpgwpid-dsc_0006.jpgThe yarns will be listed in my Etsy shop by tomorrow evening, if you are interested in purchasing any of them.

With all the spinning that’s been going on, my fibre stash was looking a little thin by Thursday afternoon and that anxiety started to kick in. You know the one. When your yarn/fibre stash reaches a level so dangerously low that if some apocalyptic event were to take place RIGHT NOW, you’re not sure you’d have enough wool to get by with until things settled down to the point where it was safe to go outside and loot local yarn stores. (Not that I condone looting in any way. But listen, in the apocalypse it’s every person for themselves. Desperate times call for desperate measures) Yeah, that anxiety. The annual Toronto Knitter’s Frolic was on Saturday, which meant that all catastrophic events had to hold off for only two days, then my stash would be adequately topped up.

Phew! The apocalypse did hold off. Saturday morning I rummaged through my closet to find the perfect knitted items to wear to The Frolic. I decided on this gorgeous cabled sweater (I’m afraid I cannot remember which yarn I used), and a handspun alpaca shawl.

wpid-img_20150425_220724.jpg
The sweater pattern is Fargo by Kate Gagnon Osborne and the shawl pattern is the Guernsey Triangle by Jared Flood

Then I made the long, long trek to the north-east end of Toronto. That consisted of two Mississauga buses, a forty minute subway ride, followed by another twenty minute bus ride. It was totally worth it. Not just for the deals – which were fantastic – and not just for the variety of yarn and supplies – which was abundant – but also for the atmosphere. I was so amazed by how many people were there. You could hardly take two steps without literally bumping into another knitter. Normally I am not a huge fan of crowds, but this was different. I was among my own kind.

Knitters are some of the nicest  people you will ever meet. There is something very uplifting about being in a concentrated group of them. After some consideration, I think I know the reason: when there are a bunch of knitters all together in a room, they are in a perpetual state of admiration for each other’s work. It’s such a positive environment. Of course, it’s also nice to be among people who understand your little quirks that may seem a bit odd (or outright crazy) to the average (non-knitting) person. Like exclaiming “That yarn is so delicious I want to eat it!”

wpid-img_20150426_173453.jpgSo, I bought a few things. I’m very happy with my purchases. That should keep me going for the next two weeks until my cast is removed. One final difference I noticed between knitters and non-knitters actually relates to my injury. The typical question I get from people is “How did you break your arm?” whereas every knitter I chatted with at The Frolic had the same reaction “Oh my! How do you knit with a broken arm?!” Yep, they’ve got their priorities straight.

 

2 thoughts on “And We Frolicked

Leave a Reply

