this is what a crazy person looks like

I had my follow-up appointment at the fracture clinic today. The results thus far are positive, but I’m still not in any condition to return to work. They did put a fresh cast on, thank goodness! It’s much tighter and more restricting so as to really prevent the bone from shifting. Apparently they will know by next week if surgery is necessary. All I want is to get back to work, so I must, must, MUST  be disciplined about this. No pushing the limits. That means that, as painful as it may be, I need to flat out give up knitting for at least the next seven days. Cold turkey. No little taste of a fingerless glove here and there. One stitch is too many! (…and a thousand is never enough.)

The weather out there is miserable, but stubborn ol’ me just had to walk to the hospital because I refuse to pay $3.25 to ride the bus for four minutes. It’s the principle of the matter. I live about two and a half kilometers from the hospital, and the walk there was not too bad. A bit chilly, but the morning rain had ceased. The walk home is a different story. Was it ever coming down! Cold, cold rain and blustery winds gusting so hard I could barely move forward with the resistance from my umbrella. On top of that, I couldn’t put my sticky cast and sling into my left jacket sleeve, therefore I was only wearing my right sleeve and my hood snapped tightly around my neck. So there I am, walking down the street in a freezing thunderstorm, with a jacket only on one arm, an alpaca shawl wrapped around my cast, my umbrella flipping inside out, and my hood continuously unsnapping due to the heavy wind. I couldn’t see myself, but I only imagine that mascara was running down my face in such a way that I looked like a confused old woman on her way to an Alice Cooper show. A stranger even stopped to help me snap up my hood, and then probably called the hospital to see if any psych patients had recently escaped.

It’s so nice to be home in my pajamas with a cup of tea and a chocolate croissant. I’ll probably just crawl into bed and watch television for the rest of the day. White-knuckle my way through this whole no-knitting deal. I really have to take it easy for the next week, and the prospect of “relaxing” is a bit daunting. I’m not so good at relaxing. Especially without yarn in my hands. Take it one day at a time, I suppose.

One thought on “this is what a crazy person looks like

Leave a Reply

