Looking Up

Things are definitely starting to improve. My frustration level has diminished since I’ve gotten used to the fact that my left arm is useless. At first I would forget that I had a cast on and would try to use my left hand, only to get aggravated with each failed attempt. Things are mentally easier now that I’m accustomed to only having one useful hand. Yesterday I even managed to bathe, blow-dry my hair, put on makeup, get dressed and….sit around the house. Ok, so I didn’t have any plans. It was nice, though, to get out of my three-day-old pajamas and try to once again resemble a human being. Sitting around the house inevitably led to knitting. I am trying to finish a few small projects to list on Etsy.  The knitting process is very slow right now. DSC_0199And I really struggle with transitioning from one DPN to the next. My gauge is sloppy and there is some serious laddering taking place between needles. Sadly, that means that Woodruff has to be put on the back burner. For now I’m focusing on small, manageable items like this orange headband. There’s no pattern; I just winged it.  Other than short-row shaping, the entire thing is done in garter stitch.  The yarn itself is the feature. You can find the headband for sale in my Etsy shop.

il_570xN.750062954_mfhf
Yarn: BFL art yarn that I handspun years ago on a drop spindle. Dyed with Wilton’s food colouring.

My knitting was pleasantly cut short yesterday due to a visit from an old friend. We hadn’t seen each other in a couple years so it was really nice to catch up. He is an arborist who has his own little operation a few hours away in the country. We talked for hours – mostly about tree stuff and work. He really helped to lift my spirits. In the evening I received a phone call from another old friend whom I haven’t seen in a long time. Such a nice surprise! I was half-expecting the call, but not so soon. Remember the super-secret-lace-crochet-bind-off project I was working on not too long ago? It was a gift for my best friend from childhood. She is getting married in August, but she lives in Montreal which means I can’t be around in the meantime to help her with any of the planning, or attend showers, Stag and Doe, etc. So I thought I’d make her a shawl to demonstrate that even though I cannot be there with her, I’m still devoting hours upon hours to her. Infusing (nearly) every stitch with love. The final product?

DSC_0138_medium2
Pattern: Blooming Stitch Shawl by Mary R. White. Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss Lace, natural. 2 skeins

I mailed the gift on Friday afternoon and she received it Monday evening. That was unexpectedly quick. She is very happy with it. Her cat likes it too.

received_10152642000605216 received_10152642000490216 received_10152642000555216received_10152642000655216

I’ve been trying to come up with things to occupy my time while I’m off work. Things that don’t require the use of my left hand. Spinning is pretty much out of the question. The drafting process puts too much strain on my arm. Just a small amount of tension sends shooting pains through my forearm. (This morning I almost cried trying to tear a banana away from the bunch.) There is an art supply store just up the street from my house, so I went to check it out today. My right hand still works, so why not take up drawing again? I picked up a set of markers, some nice drawing card, and a bit of charcoal. I feel so inspired. This afternoon just flew by as I worked on two drawings. They are mere sketches at the moment. Tomorrow I’d like to complete the final perfected products and perhaps even list them on Etsy. Yeah, they’re knitting themed drawings. Does that come as some surprise?DSC_0198

2 thoughts on “Looking Up

Leave a Reply

